BBLF and partner news

Calling all diversity and inclusion champions

January 24, 2024
Calling all diversity and inclusion champions

The European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award is open to all local authorities in the EU who are building fairer societies by promoting diversity and inclusion in terms of:

  • Sex
  • Racial or ethnic origin
  • Religion or belief
  • Disability
  • Age
  • LGBTIQ identity

This means your town, city, or region could get the recognition it deserves for building an environment that allows everyone to feel safe and fulfil their potential.

Award categories

There are two main categories:

  • Local authorities with less than 50 000 inhabitants;
  • Local authorities with more than 50 000 inhabitants

A specific award will also be given for local authorities enabling safe towns, cities and regions for women in all their diversity, by addressing violence against women.

You can submit your application in any EU official language.


Applications close on 15 February 2024 12:00 CET. The Award ceremony will be held on 25 April 2024.

More on the rules and application process

Competition timeline

• Entries submissions: until 15 February 2024, at 12h00 PM CET

• Expert and jury evaluation of entries: between 16 February and 31 March 2023

• Announcement of shortlisted candidates: early April 2024 (expected)

• Prize-giving ceremony: 25 April 2024

2023 #DiversityCapitals Gold Award Winners

More than 70 cities, towns and regions applied to be named European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity in last year’s competition. The ones below won the coveted Gold prize in their categories by excelling in their pursuit of a more equal and inclusive Europe.

Category  Over 50 000 inhabitants  - TERRASSA, Spain

Category Less than 50 000 inhabitants - LA ZARZA, Spain

Fostering LGBTIQ Equality - GDAŃSK, Poland

Inspire the EU, build a Union of Equality

The Award is about more than recognition. Our winners will inspire other towns, cities and regions by sharing best practices and winning policies. This will take us all a step further to a Union of Equality and a more equal society.

Helena Dalli, European Commissioner for Equality: The European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award is granted to local authorities that exemplify outstanding dedication to creating safe, inclusive spaces where all feel that they belong and can flourish. The winning local authorities transform the ideal of inclusion and diversity into tangible deliverables. This serves to inspire others. I thank these European capitals for taking the Union of Equality to citizens at the local level.

Questions about the Award?

If you have questions:

Download the presentation for potential applicants from the webinar held by the European Commission.

Check out the rules and guidelines

Contact the Award Secretariat at